Tree cities of the world

We're proud to be part of the Tree Cities of the World programme, connecting cities around the world to create a network dedicated to sharing how we all manage urban trees and forests to make our cities greener and more robust.

The Tree Cities of the World programme, led by Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the Arbor Day Foundation, is an initiative to recognise cities and towns across all continents that meet core standards for the care and planning of urban trees and forests.

The vision of the Tree Cities of the World programme is to connect cities around the world in a new network dedicated to sharing and adopting the most successful approaches to managing urban trees and forests. Recognition through the Tree Cities of the World programme represents the first step toward achieving a green vision for the qualifying communities.

achieving recognition

Trees for Cities is leading the initiative to recruit and support cities throughout the UK to apply for designation and we have been encouraging and supporting councils to achieve the award.

To achieve recognition, cities must meet the programme’s five core standards:

  • Establish responsibility
  • Set the rules
  • Know what you have
  • Allocate the resources
  • Celebrate achievements



21 UK towns and cities have been recognised as ‘Tree Cities of the World’ in the 2022 round of applications - a new UK record! These councils are now joining an international network of towns and cities dedicated to fostering the best urban forestry practices.

  • Rother District Council (Bexhill on Sea)
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Bradford City Council
  • London Borough of Barking & Dagenham
  • London Borough of Camden
  • Coventry City Council
  • London Borough of Ealing
  • Hull City Council,
  • Ipswich Borough Council
  • Leeds City Council
  • Middlesbrough Council,
  • Newport City Council
  • Portsmouth City Council
  • London Borough of Redbridge
  • Sheffield City Council
  • Solihull Council
  • Stockton-On-Tees Borough Council
  • Telford & Wrekin Council
  • Tower Hamlets Council
  • Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council
  • Wrexham County Borough Council

Well done to all the councils! To find out if your area can apply for 2023 designation, follow the link below.

Big thanks to the players of People's Postcode Lottery for the support which has enabled us to take a lead the initiative in the UK!